Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Local Government Heritage Lists

Places on a local government heritage list will generally require planning approval for demolition, additions and other works.  It is therefore important to check whether a property appears on a heritage list when planning such works.

Information provided to the Heritage Council is not yet sufficiently reliable to include all heritage list data within the inHerit database.  This matter is being addressed with the WA local government sector, but at present the following can be used as a general guide.

The tables below are current as of February 2018 and represent information provided to Heritage Services or available on local government websites.  It is intended only as a guide and should not form the basis of statutory decisions. 

In all cases it is recommended that you check heritage status and other planning issues with the relevant local government prior to commencing any works.

1.     Heritage lists for the following local governments are shown in inHerit.

Heritage lists for local governments shown in iNHERIT                        
Victoria Park

2.     Heritage lists for the following local governments are available on their respective websites.


Albany Cottesloe Melville  Rockingham    
Bayswater East Fremantle Murray Stirling  
Boddington Exmouth Northampton Subiaco
Collie Joondalup Nedlands  Swan
Lake Grace Port Hedland  

3.     For the following local governments, all places in the municipal inventory (MI) are also considered to be included in the heritage list.  MI information is listed in inHerit.

  Armadale Chapman Valley Kalgoorlie-Boulder Morawa Wagin
 Ashburton Coorow Katanning  Narembeen  Wyalkatchem
 Boyup Brook Corrigin Kojonup  Peppermint Grove   Wyndham-East Kimberley 
 Broome Derby-West Kimberley  Kulin  Sandstone  York
 Broomehill-Tambellup Greater Geraldton  Mandurah South Perth  
 Capel Harvey  Moora  Tammin  

4.    The following local governments are understood to have adopted a heritage list but do not appear to publish them online.

Augusta Margaret River  Denmark  Mosman Park Toodyay 
 Brookton Irwin 
Mundaring  Victoria Plains 
 Cue Manjimup Narrogin  Wanneroo 
 Dalwallinu Mingenew  Serpentine-Jarrahdale  Yilgarn 

5.     From the available information the following local governments have not adopted a heritage list.

Bassendean Dandaragan Gnowangerup Laverton Northam Wandering
 Beverley Dardanup  Goomalling Leonora Nungarin West Arthur
 Bruce Rock Donnybrook-Balingup Halls Creek Menzies Perenjori Westonia
 Cambridge Dowerin Jerramungup Merredin Pingelly Wickepin
 Carnamah  Dumbleyung  Kalamunda  Mt Magnet Quairading Williams
Chittering Dundas Karratha  Mt Marshall Ravensthorpe Wiluna
Cranbrook East Pilbara Kellerberrin Mukinbudin Shark Bay Wongan-Balligu
Cuballing  Esperance  Kondinin Murchison Three Springs Woodanilling
Cunderdin Gingin Koorda Ngaanyatjarraku Trayning Yalgoo
Upper Gascoyne  

inHerit - an online portal for heritage listings

Contact Us

Our Office hours are from Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

View Larger Map

Heritage is integral to the vibrant life and prosperity of Western Australia.
General Enquiries

Level 2, 491 Wellington Street, Perth WA 6000

Locked Bag 2506

T: (08) 6551 8002
Freecall (regional): 1800 52 4000
F: (08) 6552 4001

Follow Us